First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer
Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867
Columbia, South Carolina 29211
Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV
Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Research Analyst/Auditor

April 27, 2016

The Honorable Tom Young, Jr., Chair Special Study Committee on the Department of Juvenile Justice 608 Gressette Building Columbia, South Carolina 29201

HAND-DELIVERED

Dear Chairman Young:

As you are aware, the House Legislative Oversight Committee is midway in its process of conducting an oversight study of the Department of Juvenile Justice pursuant to S.C. Code Section 2-2-5, et. seq. It is my understanding you are now the chairman of a Senate Special Study Committee on the Department of Juvenile Justice. In consultation with the Speaker, I respectfully propose joint meetings/hearings of the two committees for the purpose of obtaining information from the agency in an efficient manner.

We look forward to the opportunity to work together in this manner. If this proposal is amenable, please let me know so that we may proceed to address any necessary administrative issues. Thank you and your fellow committee members for your dedication to the important issues facing the people of this State.

Sincerely,

cc:

Signature Redacted

Wm. Weston J. Newton Committee Chair

The Honorable Jay Lucas, Speaker of the House of Representatives Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee Members